Aside: Barbury International Horse Trials

I woke up this morning and glanced at the clock. 4.56. My alarm clock would go off in 9 minutes. Well, no time like the present to get up then. I crawled out of bed and into the clothes that I’d laid out ready the night before, grabbed a few things and crept down the stairs, round the creak on the landing and down the next flight. I’d received death threats the night before from my cousin if I were to wake her baby up, so I thought the best way to start the day was quietly. Greeted by the dog downstairs I put the kettle on and made two cups of tea, one to drink at the time and one to take with me. I thought I might need it. When the kettle had finished boiling I let out a sigh of relief that I could still hear Dad snoring upstairs.

Image

I arrived at the yard with the Hibberd’s behind me, and demonstrated my lack of functioning at 6am by trying to push open the locked gate. That failed nicely… After feeding all the horses at the yard Sov was booted and bandaged up, loaded and off we went!

Image

When we arrived at Barbury we were directed to the Pony Club section of the lorry park, and were the forth people to arrive! This was good as Sheryl’s pony club, Craven Hunt, were the second team to jump so they needed to get warmed up as soon as they had walked the course, which began at 8am. Although we weren’t parked in with the eventers, we could see their massive lorries from our trailer.

Image

We also had quite a god view of the cross-country warm up and some of the fences, which proved to be entertaining when someone fell off and their horse ran off! We unloaded and tacked up Sovreign and waited while Sheryl walked the course with the team and got her number :) It had started to drizzle at this point and was quite chilly!

Image

Sheryl warmed Sov up and then jumped a double-clear! No easy thing to do with the condition the ground was in so they both did amazingly – there were a lot of horses stopping and sliding into the jumps this morning!

Image

Image

After they had done there round there was not much to do but wait and see how the other teams did to see if Craven were in with a chance of being placed. We wandered over to the main arena and looked in the stalls. The ex-racehorse eventing showjumping phase was taking place so we watched a bit of that, including Oliver Townsend, until it started raining so we got some lunch and headed back to the trailer. I did video Ben Way/Whey/Whay/however you spell his name and I’ll be putting that up on YouTube and will post the link in a comment on this blog. Here’s the main arena;

Image

On the way back we got a bit excited to see William Fox-Pitt’s buckets and sweat scrapers…. Hung around for a bit but he didn’t turn up :/

Image

Unfortunately the Craven Hunt team didn’t get placed, but Sheryl still got a rosette which just about sums her up…

Image

Image

6 thoughts on “Aside: Barbury International Horse Trials

  1. Sounds like a long day :) But a great one and the pics make the piece seem real xxx keep it up

Say hello....

