Freshers

On Wednesday I moved up to Shropshire! I’m now at Harper Adams University College, all settled in and keen to start my course.

 

I wasn’t looking forward to Freshers week, I’m going to be honest. As I’m not a big drinker I thought it might be horrible and people would force me to drink but it’s been pretty fun! I drove up on Wednesday with mum, and dad followed behind with the majority of my stuff in the Land Rover! We didn’t go on the motorway and got stuck behind bikes, tractors, lawn mowers, horse boxes and caravans, and it took about three hours. 

On arriving at Harper, I had to register that I was there, get my photo ID, sort out the finance stuff and register with the doctor. Then it was moving in time! And it quite quickly became apparent that my stuff was not going to fit in the kitchen! So the majority of my food is in my room on the shelf, because that’s the only place it will fit! 

There’s been a party every night, and another one tonight. During the day we’ve been having course inductions, tours of the campus and been playing games. I haven’t really enjoyed it as much as I could, as I felt so ill the first couple of days, but I feel much better now although not 100% still. I was worried that as I don’t drink I’d find the whole experience terrifying, but it’s actually not been too bad. The people in my flat are all lovely, which helps.

 

So that’s all from me – this weekend I’m going to look around a few yards so I can bring Oscar up :)

 

Maddi x

8 thoughts on “Freshers

  1. Glad you had such a good start! My friend Disco was tee-total: never stopped him enjoying Freshers every year for 4 years :) Glad you’re feeling a bit better than that your flatmates are lovely. Long may the fun continue! :)

  2. I felt the same during my freshers week (3 years ago! – that makes me sound old!!). But i explained to my friends I wasn’t a big drinker and they understood. Everyone is worried about moving to university and making new friends, its all part and parcel of the experience. For the first week I cried a lot and spent a lot of time wondering if it was the right decision to go and leave the horses behind. You’re lucky in that you’re taking Oscar, i left my horses at home and went home at weekends to see them. But, that was my decision and one I felt best as I was in a City. Trust me, make the most of your experiences, university goes so quickly and before you know it, its over. Live every opportunity to the best as you can. Its an experience that stays with you forever. You know where I am if you need to talk someone who felt exactly the same.

  3. Hi Maddi! Sorry to hear you’ve been poorly :( Bummer. Great that your flat mates are nice though, that’s pretty important. I won’t start with the advice as I’m sure you’ve heard too much already, but I’ll tell you the one thing I regret from my time at uni. I spent too much time with other Greek students! If your uni has an international student community it’s a great opportunity to meet people from all over the world! I did make two great friends from France and Spain, but I wish I’d socialized with more foreign peeps. Also, they tend to drink sensible amounts of alcohol!

    • There are a lot of Chinese people, as Harper is linked with the Beijing Agricultural College, but they are all in halls together and tend to keep together, as they arrived before the rest of us!

  4. Glad it’s been better than you expected. Hopefully, once you start your course, you’ll enjoy it so much more too. and hurray, Oscar’s going to uni!
    Don’t worry about the drinking thing. I wish I’d followed my heart and joined the clubs I wanted instead of going out getting p**sed every night. I went into rebellion mode. Just remember, be true to who you are and above all enjoy it. It’s an experience I think everyone should have in their lifetime.

  5. Here’s to 2012! « Maddi At Uni

Say hello....

