And So The Learning Begins…

Yesterday was the day that I’d been waiting for pretty much since I got to Harper. Freshers has been fun but the routine of lectures is what I really craved to settle into some sort of order and calm down. I’d been stressing quite a lot through freshers, and at the end of the day I’m here to get a degree, so the beginning of lectures came as somewhat of a relief.

Monday morning started with Animal Production Systems in the lecture theatre. Being such a small uni, Harper only has one lecture theatre in the teaching block, and one in the Regional Food Academy – the rest is done in rooms more like classrooms (essentially what they are). As with all the lectures so far, the lecturers have really just been talking us through the module – what we should expect and when our exams and assignments will be. The lecturer for Animal Production seems nice – he set out his rules from the beginning but I guess it helps everyone get off on the right foot, and he wasn’t nasty at all; I think I’ll enjoy that module.

Next we had Law for Estate Managers. I’m not going to lie, it sounds pretty heavy but hopefully it won’t be tooo hard. (Fingers crossed!) We got given a LOT of bits of paper for Law and recommended reading. I still haven’t worked out quite how I’m going to read all this stuff, as it’s chapters from various books. Guess I’ll be spending a lot of time in the library! 

Academic Development is something that everyone on every course has to do and is designed to teach you how to write assignments and reference properly. We’ve been given a 1000 word assignment on ‘a course related topic of choice’ as a practice and I have absolutely no idea where to start. So good start there. ;) It’s one of those things that seems a bit pointless but is probably quite useful, and you have to pass it to get to 2nd year so I should probably try…

Valuation and Professional Practice came last yesterday, and I thought it was quite interesting. It’s supposedly one of the harder modules so I’ll have to pay lots of attention there! It did interest me as some of it seems familiar to work that my dad does and to work I did when I was on work experience, and I enjoyed, so I don’t think it will be too hard to stay motivated.

Today started off with an Animal Production tutorial – a practical on the farm! We all climbed into our coveralls and went to prod some sheep (to see what condition they’re in) and then weighed them. It was pretty good fun to be honest, especially if you don’t mind getting your hands dirty. I really wanted to turn one over but I couldn’t work out how…

After our trip to the farm and changing out of smelly sheep gear, it was time for our first lecture in Rural Geography and Economics. I was quite looking forward to this as I really enjoyed geography at A-level, particularly physical geography but I quickly realised it was going to be more of the human side – obviously because it’s economics as well. But that’s fine and it was interesting today :)

We had our first Sustainable Crop Production lecture today as well which also sounded interesting. The agriculture modules really interest me and are really why I chose to do a rural course instead of a more urban equivalent, even though I don’t think I could cut it to be a farmer. We’ve got a tutorial on Thursday which is a field walk to look around, although the fields are pretty bare right now so I doubt we’ll see much. It will be a nice break from sitting in lectures though.

So that’s pretty much what’s been going on here; we’ve been set quite a lot of work already too. Now I just need to work out how to do all of this reading…

 

Maddi x

4 thoughts on “And So The Learning Begins…

  1. I’m glad the classes have provided such a good, if busy, start. Fingers crossed they’re as interesting and informative as most of them sound :)

  2. Wow your course sounds interesting! I really think I’m a farm girl stuck in a city girl’s life; I’d love to have studied agricultural stuff! Shame I didn’t know that way back when!

  3. Here’s to 2012! « Maddi At Uni

Say hello....

