A Letter To My 14 year-old Self.

The WordPress prompt a few days ago was ‘Write a letter to your 14 year old self. Tomorrow, write a letter to yourself if 20 years time.’ As I’ve been a bit short of writing material recently, I thought this might be fun to write. I can’t guarantee the letter to myself in 20 years will be done tomorrow – especially as my assignment draft has to be in on Tuesday – but I will write it at some point. So here goes…

 

Dear Me.

A lot has happened in four years, I guess. Four years from now and I will have finished my degree, hopefully have a job that I love, and who knows what else. It seems like a million miles away. 

Right now, you have no clue. No clue whatsoever. What lies ahead, where life will take you, what you want to do with your life. OK – I still have no clue about the first two, but I DO know what I want to do with my life. 

Never give up. That’s all the advice I can give you. I know it’s a cliché, but it’s what will get you here. Right now, you want to get back into riding. Well, that WILL happen. You’ll learn to ride again, and keep nagging mum, you’ll get a loan pony all to yourself. You’ll learn to canter, jump, you’ll gallop across fields, hack through woods, get caught up in the middle of a hunt and spend hours grooming in the sunshine. You’ll have lessons, make friends, even compete. And you WILL get some rosettes. You won’t have a lorry full of them, but you’ll treasure those little coloured ribbons like they were gold. You will have the time of your life.

I’d give up on French now if I was you – it’s a lost cause. You won’t get a GCSE in it. You WILL get some  good GSCE’s. Right now Mr Browne is teaching you Geography – you’ll learn to love it, and that’s a love that’ll never die. Places to travel to and see – who knows, maybe some day you will go to them. Work hard in your exams, it will be worth it. Right now you have no idea what path you want your life to take, but have no fear, it will all fall into place. Work you BUTT off in your A-levels. It’s going to be tough, I’ll tell you now. You’ll stress, you’ll cry, you’ll want to give it all up. You’ll spend weeks of working solidly, barely leaving the dining room table. But you’ll get there in the end. And you’ll get to the most amazing place in the world. People will share your interests, you’ll do a course that you love, you will, for probably the first time, really fit in with the people around you.

Hang on in there.

Have fun, make friends, but look after number one.

 

Maddi xx

 

6 thoughts on “A Letter To My 14 year-old Self.

  1. I loved reading your letter Maddi (and laughed too at the French bit – I was, and still am, hopeless at languages). My 14 year old self is very much a blurr, but 16 and 17, oh yes, I remember those two years very well!

  2. Whilst reading made me feel emotional :(
    You have achieved a lot in the last four years so work hard and dont give it up now your here at Uni, it will be hard but you will get out what you put in

    Good Luck
    Xx

  3. Don’t You Dare Give Up. « Maddi At Uni

Say hello....

