Building Surveys, Exams and Plans.

On Sunday packed my car up and drove the three hour trip back to Harper to begin the summer term. We’ve had a few hours of sun in the mornings but nothing compared to the ‘omg it’s so hot and sunny’ comments I’ve seen on twitter over the last few days!

Lectures are back in full swing, finishing the last sections of the course before revision and exams begin. We’ve got three assignments left to hand in, two of which are for Construction and Surveying due in on Monday. I’ve quite enjoyed carrying out a survey of the cricket pavilion and writing a building survey report about it. I’ve gone on site visits with dad, who’s a Chartered Building Surveyor, a few times to do schedules of condition and similar but this is the first time I’ve had to think for myself and write a report, and it’s been interesting. The other is a group assignment which I am project managing. It is really starting to come together, but it looks like there could be a bit of last-minute editing to do as some members of the group haven’t quite finished their sections yet. That just leaves IRM to be handed in on 13th May, so a little while to finalise that now.

I’ve got five exams at the end of May and beginning of June. These are in Rural Geography and Economic, Crop Production, Animal Production, Business and Law. We’ve got pre-seen essays for a couple which I’m aiming to start planning next week once the construction assignments are out of the way, so I can be happy with them and have them in my head in time for the exam. There are now only seven weeks left of first year! 

Today we had a talk from Land Registry about what they do, which I learnt a fair bit from as I wasn’t really aware how much they do and how big a role they play, so that was definitely beneficial. 

I’ll be looking for a bit of work experience over the summer, to gain experience in the field so I’m in  a better position going onto placement in third year, so we’ll see how that goes.

This weekend there’s a camping trip with Harper Outdoor Pursuits Society (HOPS) to Snowdonia, with a walk up Snowdon, which should be really good.The weekend after that I’m going home for my birthday and hopefully (fingers crossed!) the first sailing trip of the season! That’ll make all the hard work anti-fouling worth it!

Maddi x

3 thoughts on “Building Surveys, Exams and Plans.

  1. Can’t believe the first year’s nearly over! Enjoy Snowdonia and have a lovely birthday weekend when it arrives x

Say hello....

