THE SWING OF THINGS

I’VE been home for about a month now, and it’s been quite a busy one.

The day after I got home I went out handing out my CV to various places to try and get a job. The next day I had a job. And the day after that was my first shift.

I had a job waitressing at a pub in a village near me which was just re-opening under new management, new chef and after a massive overhaul. The aim was to do up market food – and it certainly looked good – with friendly and professional service. Great, and I really enjoyed working there. But after our wages being promised on four different occasions and each time no money turning up, I decided I didn’t want to do any more shifts without being paid. So now I don’t have a job.

But that’s OK, because I’ve been very busy with lots of other things. The wannabe surveyor part of me doesn’t stop because it’s the summer holidays; I’ve been doing some work experience to pass the time, gain experience and learn as much as I can.  I’ve been at a small firm of chartered surveyors local to me for a week and a half and have been having a great time and have been able to gain a wide range of experience due to the diversity of the firm. I have two days left there and I’ll definitely be sad to leave.

The two weeks of work experience will also give my CV a bit of a boost, in preparation of applying for work for the placement year. If I can get a good placement, I can get a wide range of experience in the field and also start logging the first year of my APC (Assessment of Professional Competence) to become RICS qualified. Ultimately this will likely be the first goal after graduating.

On Thursday I’m off to Paris for the end of the Tour de France, which is looking to be exciting. Hopefully the hot weather will continue and I can carry on topping up my tan, which is taking a while to establish itself!

Hope everyone is having a good summer,

Maddi x

3 thoughts on “THE SWING OF THINGS

  1. Damn straight not working for free! Shame they let you down. Love how proactive you’re being about placement though :)

    Trip to Paris for TdF sounds fab! :D

    • Glad you agree with me – I wasn’t sure but thought it could go on forever!
      There’s a lot of competition for the best placements so I want to be up there in the best! :) x

Say hello....

