Onto the next phase!

I have, after what feels like forever, finished my exams.  Some went better than others but I won’t know really until the results come out on 16th July so that’s all I am saying on the matter.

Now – onto the next phase!

As some of you may know I am doing a sandwich course.  This means that I do two years of study at university, one year on a work placement in industry and then I return to university for the final year.

As I have just finished second year, this means I am going on to placement!

At the beginning of July I will start my year placement in the Estate Office on the Chatsworth Estate in Derbyshire.

Chatsworth Selfie

Me at Chatsworth!

This year will also count as the first year of my Assessment of Professional Competence (APC).  The APC is the training and assessment process which enables candidates to become members of the Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors (RICS).  It requires a minimum of two years of training in the work place, which must be recorded in a log book, to meet certain competencies which the candidate chooses based on what work they are doing and what their interests are.

After the two years of training, there is then a presentation of a critical analysis, and an interview with a panel of assessors.  The assessors then decide if the candidate is ready to become a member of the RICS.

So in a few weeks time I will be choosing which competencies I want to do for my APC, and getting started working!

Out in the big wide world – a little scary but I can’t wait!

Say hello....

